Home / Sports / BCB announce 16-man squad for first two ODIs of Tri-Nation Series

BCB announce 16-man squad for first two ODIs of Tri-Nation Series

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Sunday announced a 16-man ODI squad for the two matches of Tri-Nation series, starting on January 15 at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS) in Mirpur.

BCB selection committee chief Minhajul Abedin Nannu announced the squad in a press conference at SBNCS media block while another selection panel member Habibul Basha also present on the occasion.

Taskin Ahmed and Soumya Sarkar have been dropped from the previous ODI squad that played against South Africa in a three-math overseas series in October 2107.

The other players dropped from previous squad are: Liton Kumar Das, Mominul Haque and Shafiul Islam while Mustafizur Rahman, Anamul Haque, Mohammad Mithun, Abul Hasan and Sunzamul Islam have been included into the squad

The host Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Zimbabwe will play in the seven-match day-night ODI series till January 27

In the double league basis ODI series, Bangladesh will meet Zimbabwe in the inaugural match on January 15, face Sri Lanka on January 19 and play Zimbabwe again on January 23 before taking on Sri Lanka on January 25. The top two teams of the league will play the final.

The Tigers are now on a 15-day conditioning camp, involving two One-day matches at SBNCS, which started at BCB Academy Ground on December 27, 2017.

The Tigers played out the 1st practice match on January 6 at SBNCS where Tamim Iqbal hit a century of 104 runs for Shakib Al Hasan-led BCB Red team victory of 137 runs against Mashrafe Bin Mortaza’s BCB Green team. They will play the 2nd day-night One-day preparation match at the same venue on Tuesday.

BCB has split the Tigers in two groups – each group comprises 12 players — for their practice matches.

The Zimbabwe team will arrive in Dhaka on January 10 while Sri Lanka team on January 13 to start their new year’s overseas sporting campaign.

Bangladesh squad for the 1st 2-ODI: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Anamul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Mohammad Mithun, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Abul Hasan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mohammad Saifuddin and Sunzamul Islam.