Home / Sports / BCB announces 16-man T20I squad for Nidahas Trophy

BCB announces 16-man T20I squad for Nidahas Trophy

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Monday announced a 16-man T20I squad to play the tri-nation ‘Nidahas Trophy’ against India and Sri Lanka in Colombo.


Recovering from finger injury, all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan will return to captain the Tigers’ in the tournament beginning on March 6 in Sri Lanka.


Shakib suffered injury in his left hand little finger during fielding against Sri Lanka in the Tri-nation ODI series final in Mirpur on January 27.


There were several changes in the squad that played against Sri Lanka in February as top-order batsman Imrul Kayes, off spinner Mehidy Hasan Miraz, pace bowler Taskin Ahmed and wicket keeping all-rounder Nurul Hasan have been included in the squad dropping Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehedi Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Afif Hossain and Mohammed Mithun.


The 13-day Twenty20 tri-nation series will begin with hosts Sri Lanka taking on another participant India at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on March 6.


The series will follow a round-robin format where all teams to play each other twice and the top two sides will move to the final to be held at the same venue on March 18.


Through the Nidahas Trophy tournament, Sri Lanka Cricket is marking the island nation’s 70th year of independence. Sri Lanka freed from British rule on February 4 in 1948.


Bangladesh squad: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Mahmudullah Riyad, Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Imrul Kayes, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Abu Hider, Abu Jayed, Ariful Haque, Nazmul Islam, Nurul Hasan and Mehidy Hasan Miraz.


Nidahas Trophy Fixture: Sri Lanka vs India (March 6); Bangladesh vs India (March 8); Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh (March 10); India vs Sri Lanka (March 12); India vs Bangladesh (March 14); Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka (March 16) and Final on March 18.