Home / Sports / Mushy’s promising 72* goes in vain as India win by 17 runs  

Mushy’s promising 72* goes in vain as India win by 17 runs  

Bangladesh conceded second defeat the tri-nation Nidahas Trophy as India got a 17-run win in the 5th T20I of the tournament at R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Wednesday.

Chasing a target of 177 runs, Bangladesh finished on 159 for 6 in 20 overs with Mushfiqur Rahim’s brilliant half century of 72* off 55 balls, including eight boundaries and one six.

On his way to 4th T20I half century, Mushfiq shared a partnership of 65 off 8 overs with Sabbir Rahman in the 5th wicket stand, which ended on 126/5 in 16.4 overs as Sabbir was bowled out by Shardul Thakur, starting after the dismissal of skipper Mahmudullah Riyad on 61/4 in 8.4 overs.

However, Mushfique played an innings of 72* in Bangladesh’s last match for a five-wicket victory against Sri Lanka.

Opening the innings Bangladesh suffered early jolt losing two top-order batsmen –Liton Kumar Das and Soumya Sarkar — on 12/1 in 1.5 overs and on 35/2 in 3.4 overs respectively.

Opener Tamim Iqbal should have stay with Mushfiq in the 3rd stand, but was bowled out Washington Sundar on 40/3 in 5.4 overs, from where Mushfiq and Sabbir started their partnership innings.

Tamim (27 off 19b; 4×4; 1×6), Sabbir (27 off 23b; 2×4; 1×6) and Mahmudullah (11 off 8b; 2×4) were other double digit scorers for Bangladesh.

Washington Sundar got three wickets for 22 runs in four overs while Yuzvendra Chahal (1/21), Shardul Thakur (1/21) and Mohammed Siraj (1/50) shared three wickets for Tigers.

Sent in to bat first, India scored 176 for 3 in 20 overs where skipper Rohit Sharma played an innings of 89 off 61 balls, including five boundaries and five sixes, in his opening place.

Man of the match R Sharma, who was run out on India’s final collection after facing Rubel Hossain, shared a partnership innings of 102 off 9.2 overs in the 2nd wicket stand with Suresh Raina in another partnership of 70 off 9.5 overs in the opening stand with Shikhar Dhawan.

S Raina hit 47 off 30 balls, to fire five boundaries and two sixes, before being caught by Soumya Sarkar off Rubel on 172/2 in 19.1 overs.

Rubel bowled out S Dhawan (35 off 27b; 5×4; 1×6) for Bangladesh’s first breakthrough and to dismiss S Dhawan from the opening stand.

Pace bowler Rubel got two wickets for an economic 27-run in four overs for the Tigers.

India confirmed their final berth collecting six points from four outings and maintained the lead in the table with three wins against one loss.

Bangladesh remained at the bottom of the table with two points from three games, having one win against two losses, and will play the next game against host Sri Lanka on March 16 to utilise their last hopes for final berth.