Home / Bangladesh / JS polls schedule in October: EC

JS polls schedule in October: EC

BD Desk : The schedule for 11th Jatiya Sangsad election will be announced in October, Election Commissioner (EC) Md Rafiqul Islam said.

The Election Commission has also reset the boundaries of 25 of the 300 parliamentary constituencies to be contested in the upcoming general election.

Election Commissioner Md Rafiqul Islam said the decision was made at a meeting chaired by Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda on Monday.

The boundaries of the 300 constituencies have been finalised and will be announced in a gazette. The boundaries of 275 constituencies will remain unchanged from those used in the tenth national parliamentary elections, while the remaining 25 have been revised.

Previously on March 14, a draft of the redistricted boundaries showed alterations to 40 constituencies while the remaining 260 remained the same. But 60 of the boundaries outlined in the draft were contested or petitioned.

The EC scrutinised the appeals from April 21 to April 25 before accepting 35 of the appeals.

As a result, those constituencies will maintain the boundaries from the tenth national parliamentary elections. The remaining 25 will be changed.

The 25 seats to be reset are Nilphamari-3, Nilphamari-4, Rangpur-1, Rangpur-3, Kurigram-3, Kurigram-4, Sirajganj-1, Sirajganj-2, Khulna-3, Khulna-4, Jamalpur-4, Jamalpur-5, Narayanganj-4, Narayanganj-5, Sylhet-2, Sylhet-3, Moulvibazar-2, Moulvibazar-3, Brahmanbaria-5, Brahmanbaria-6, Cumilla-6, Cumilla-9, Cumilla-10, Noakhali-4 and Noakhali-5.

The gazette with the revised boundaries will be released on Monday