Home / Sports / Women’s T20I: Bangladesh’s chance to sweep Ireland after series victory

Women’s T20I: Bangladesh’s chance to sweep Ireland after series victory

They head in to the 3rd game Sunday

Women’s T20I: Bangladesh’s chance to sweep Ireland after series victory   

Dhaka, June 30 : Bangladesh women’s cricket team boosted up with maiden T20I series victory by 2-0 margin and can sweep hosts Ireland as head in to the third and final game at Pembroke Cricket Club ground in Dublin on Sunday.

The match will begin at 7 pm [Bangladesh time].

The Tigresses must aim to set a record of their first-ever clean sweep against any side in this format while Ireland will be keen to register a win as both sides are preparing for the Women’s World T20 Qualifier in the Netherlands starting on July 5.

Bangladesh sealed series by equal four wickets win each in Dublin’s double-header.

With the series win, Bangladesh, notably, got seven successive victories in T20Is in a streak, which began in the successful six-nation Women’s Asia Cup campaign for maiden multinational tournament title in Kula Lumpur earlier this month.

The Tigresses took 1-0 lead in the series beating Ireland by four wickets in the first match in a last ball thriller, requiring 1 off 1 run for chasing the target of 135 runs and FahimaKhatun [26* off 18b; 3×4] did that off Eimear Richardson to reach the win.

Pace bowler Jahanara Alam set the record of taking a five-for as the first Bangladesh women cricketer, conceding 28 runs in four overs, in the first match to restrict Ireland on 134/8in 20 overs at YMCA Cricket Club in Dublin on Thursday.

Shamima Sultana’s [51 off 49b; 9×4] half century led Bangladesh to a second successive win on Friday’s game, which was won by the same margin – four wickets – but with a slightly more comfortable five balls to spare.

Bangladesh chased a target of 125 for 6 in 19.1 overs after restricting the Ireland on 124 for 8 in 20 overs.

However, in the group stages of the ICC Women’s World T20 Qualifier, Bangladesh will play Scotland, Papua New Guinea, the Netherlands and the United Arab Emirates on July 5, 7, 8 and 10 respectively.

Bangladesh squad: Salma Khatun (captain), Rumana Ahmed, Nigar Sultana, FarganaHoque, Khadija Tul Kubra, FahimaKhatun, AyashaRahman, Shamima Sultana, NahidaAkter, PannaGhosh, Lily Rani Biswas, Sanjida Islam, Sharmin Sultana and JahanaraAlam.

Ireland squad: Laura Delany (captain), Kim Garth, Cecelia Joyce, Isobel Joyce, Shauna Kavanagh, Gaby Lewis, Lara Maritz, Ciara Metcalfe, Cara Murray, Orla Prendergast, Eimear Richardson, Clare Shillington, Rebecca Stokell and Mary Waldron.