Home / Bangladesh / OIC delegation greets PM on victory

OIC delegation greets PM on victory

Heads of missions representing the OIC member countries congratulated Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina her party’s landslide victory in the December 30 national election.

“You’ve achieved an unprecedented victory…your people have placed trust on your due to (your) hard work over the last 10 years. People have seen development, security, stability and economic development,” said Palestine Ambassador Yousef SY Rahman, a member of the 17-member delegation comprising ambassadors and Chargé d’ affaires of the OIC member countries.

The delegation greeted the Prime Minister handing over a bouquet to her at her official residence Ganobhaban on Sunday.

“Your countrymen want to achieve the goals of your great father,” the ambassador said.

Turkish Ambassador Devrim Ozturk has pledged to continue its support to Bangladesh to fulfill their commitment to find a salutation to Rohingya crisis.

During the meeting, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina said she is trying her best to work for people to ensure their basic needs.

“My late father liberated the country through a war and that’s why I always feel the stimulus to fulfill my father’s dreams,” the premier told the delegation.

She also said now people have realized that her government is working for people. “My own aim is to develop the basic condition of people so that they can have their food, housing, health and all other basic needs.”

Sheikh Hasina thanked the OIC member countries for extending their support to her always.

“This support gives me strength to work more and more for people,” Hasina added.

Among others, PM’s International Affairs Adviser Prof Dr Gowher Rizvi, Foreign Minister AK Abdul Momen, State Minister for Foreign Affairs Md Shahriar Alam, PM’s Principal Secretary Md. Nojibur Rahman, Foreign Secretary Md Shahidul Haque, PM’s Press Secretary Ihsanul Karim and PMO Secretary Sajjadul Hassan were present at the meeting.

The 15 other delegates are Qatar’s Ambassador Ahmed Mohamed Al-Dehaimi, UAE Ambassador Saed Mohammed Saed Al Muhairi, Egyptian Ambassador Walid Shamseldin, Indonesian Ambassador Rina Soemarno, Kuwait’s Ambassador Adel Mohammed A H Hayat, Morocco’s Ambassador Majid Halim, Maldives High Commissioner Aishath Shaan Shakir, Iraqi Chargé d’affaires (CDA) Omar Hashim, Oman’s CDA Ta’eeb Salim Abdullah Al’ Alawi, Libyan CDA Mahmoud Salabi, Brunei’s CDA Haji Roslan Haji, Maldives CDA Ismail Mufeed, Saudi Arabian CDA Ibrahim AL Humaidhi and Pakistani CDA Shah Faisal Kakar.