Home / Bangladesh / No oath, no pay: Official to Oikya Front MPs

No oath, no pay: Official to Oikya Front MPs

Eight Jatiya Oikya Front leaders have been listed as MPs in the government’s gazette, but they will not receive any benefits unless they take oath of office.

“They can’t get their salaries or allowances unless they are sworn in to parliament,” said Nitish Chandra Sarkar, an additional secretary to the parliament secretariat. “They’ll get these payments whenever they decide to take oath.”

Oikya Front, an alliance comprised of the BNP and other parties, won eight seats in the recently held general election.

It has rejected the outcome of the polls and refused to take oath of office while accusing the ruling Awami League of vote rigging.

BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir won in Bogura-6, Mosharraf Hossain in Bogura-8, Jahidur Rahman in Thakurgaon-3, Aminul Islam in Chapainawabganj-2, Harunur Rashid in Chapainawabganj-3 and Abdus Sattar Bhuiyan in Brahmanbaria-2.

In Moulvibazar-2, Gono Forum leader Sultan Mohammad Monsur won and Sylhet-2 was bagged by the Gono Forum’s Mukabbir Khan.

Even though the alliance winners have refused to take oath, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina said they should take part in parliament for the sake of democracy.