Home / Sylhet / 16 municipal mayors of Sylhet division sworn in

16 municipal mayors of Sylhet division sworn in

4716 newly elected municipality mayors of Sylhet, Moulvibazar, Habiganj and Sunamganj districts under Sylhet division Including GK Gaus, who was elected mayor of Habiganj municipality in the December 30 election from prison, took oath after release on parole yesterday.
Sylhet Divisional Commissioner Jamal Uddin Bhuiyan conducted the oath for 16 newly elected mayors in Sylhet District Council auditorium at 11:00am Wednesday.
GK Gaus, who is in jail for nearly 13 months, was suspended from the mayoral post in his last term as he became an accused in the case for killing former finance minister Shah AMS Kibria.
Gaus, also general secretary of BNP’s Habiganj district unit, has been elected mayor of Habiganj municipality for the third time.
He was granted parole for taking oath as a newly elected mayor, officials said.
Talking to the journalists, Gaus claimed that he was imprisoned illegally and the people of Habiganj municipality gave an answer to it by electing him mayor again.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *