Home / Sylhet / Attack on SUST journalists

Attack on SUST journalists

9Mass signatures collection starts demanding punishment of attackers

A mass signatures collection campaign began at Shahjalal University of Science and Technology (SUST) on Tuesday protesting the attack on journalists on the campus. The campaigners also demanded immediate expulsion of SUST unit BCL president

Sanjiban Chakrabarti Partha and others involved in the girl harassment incident and

attack on the journalists. SUST Press Club organised the campaign around 12 noon in front of Central Library

Building which will be continued till Sunday, said the organisation's Office Secretary

Abdullah Al Monsur.  President and general secretary of Shahjalal University TeachersÕ Association Professor

Shamsul Alam and Associate Professor Mohibul Alam respectively signed to press home

for the demands. The organization has been continuing movement from Sunday while journalists associations in public universities formed separate human chains over the demand.

The university authority, however, vowed to take strong action against the culprits soon

upon receiving the probe body report.

Sarder Abbas, the district correspondent of the Daily Observer, and Syed Nabiul Alam

Dipu, the university correspondent of the daily Sakaler Khabor, came under attack on

April 8 as they were inquiring into an incident of harassing a female student and her

cousin allegedly by the BCL activists on the campus. The university authority formed a five-member probe body and central BCL suspended

the activities of the SUST unit and formed a three member probe body following the

filing of a case by the girls mother.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



Check Also

Bangla Mela in Enfield

The colourful Enfield Bangle Mela 2017 recently took palce. A large number of Bangladeshi people ...

Isbah-Fajlul-Sohel panel wins the GSC South East region election

The election of the Greater Sylhet Development and Welfare Association South East region which includes ...