Home / Entertainment / Cholochitro Shilpi Samity election held

Cholochitro Shilpi Samity election held

unnamed (6)The biennial election of Bangladesh Cholochitro Shilpi Samity was held at the Bangladesh Film Development Corporation (BFDC) in Dhaka on last Friday.

The voting started at 9am and ended at 5pm. The result is expected to be published by Friday night, reports UNB.

The three contesting panels are Omar Sunny-Amit Hasan, Misha Saudagar-Zayed Khan and Danny Sidak-Elias Kobra.

Some 57 candidates vied for 21 posts, including that of president and general secretary, from these panels in the polls.

Some independent contestants also took part in the election.

Ilias Kanchan contested for the general secretary post while Nutan, Nadir Khan, Riaz, Sankopanja and Amrita Khan fought for two vice-president posts.

Director Mantajur Rahman Akbar acted as the chairman of the election commission. He said the election was held in a peaceful environment.

Many familiar faces, including Suchanda, Babita, Sucharita, Anwara, Prabir Mitra, Rani, Shakil Khan, exercised the franchise in the election.

Well-known faces of the time like Ananta Jalil, Kazi Maruf, Samrat, Mim, Barsha, Parimoni also voted for their favourite candidates.

Superstar Shakib Khan cast his vote after Juma prayers. He was followed by Jaya Ahsan, Bidya Sinha Mim and Mahia Mahi.

The last election of the artistes’ association was held on January 30, 2015 when Shakib Khan was elected president and Amit Hasan general secretary.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *