Home / Sports / Syedpur Shaharpara win Union Cup 2017

Syedpur Shaharpara win Union Cup 2017

unnamed (19)Syedpur Shaharpara beat Asharkandi Eagles to win the Jagannathpur UK Union Cup 2017. 


A tense final against Shahinul Khan’s Asharkandi Eagles saw the game end in a stalemate, which was not surprising considering both teams were playing their seventh game of the day, including those with extra time. 


Asharkandi looked certain to lift the trophy after racing into a two goal lead but Shanur Kamali’s heroics in goal saw the Reds claw back level. The referee announced sudden death and with Asharkandi missing their penalty Luqman Kamali went for power to smash home the winner. 


Beaming Syedpur Shaharpara captain Abdul Munim, 48, said: “We feel great and it beats losing last year’s final. The feeling is wonderful and best of all it’s bought our communuty together.”


Chairman Bokul Hussain added: “The weather has been beautiful and our spirit has been magical. Congratulations to Syedpur Shaharpara. More than anything the standard of today’s play leaves us with a positive selection headache ahead of our squad selection for the 2017 Sylhet District Upazila Cup.”


East London News has named Mirpur goalkeeper Makbul Husain as man of the tournament. The outstanding stopper conceded a mere two goals throughout (1 own goal) as his team lost in the semi final against Asharkandi. In the same game Husain saved a penalty and produced a brilliant fingertip onto the bar. 


Leave a Reply