Home / Sylhet / Voting in Golapganj municipality by-polls underway

Voting in Golapganj municipality by-polls underway

Sylhet Office : The by-election to Golapganj Municipality began on Wednesday with a peaceful manner.

The polling that started around 8 am will continue till 4 pm without any break.

However, no untoward incident took place till filling of this report around 11:30 am.

Four candidates are contesting for the mayoral post of the municipality. They are Jakaria Ahmed Paplu (Awami League) and independent candidates Aminul Islam Rabel (AL errant), Golam Kibria Chowdhury Shaheen and Moshius Sunnah Chowdhury Narjis.

Three striking forces of police, a mobile team, three platoons of Borer Guard Bangladesh and four expert teams of Rapid Action Battalion have been deployed for security reasons.

A total of 21,632 voters–10,958 male and 10,674 female–will exercise their franchise in the by-election.

The post remained vacant since May 31 as Sirajul Jabbar Chowdhury, mayor of Golapganj municipality in Sylhet, died of cardiac arrest at a Dhaka hospital.