Home / Sports / ICC World Cup: New Zealand send Sri Lanka to bat

ICC World Cup: New Zealand send Sri Lanka to bat

ICC World Cup: New Zealand send Sri Lanka to bat

Cardiff , June 1 : New Zealand won the toss and invited Sri Lanka to bat first in their opening match of the ongoing ICC World Cup 2019 at Sophia Gardens in Cardiff on Saturday.

New Zealand have left out their veteran pacer Tim Southee and added one spinner Mitchell Santner and two all-rounders Colin de Grandhomme and James Neesham in their playing XI.

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson said, “We’re gonna have a bowl. Blundell, Southee, Sodhi, Nicholls are the guys to miss out. Just one spinner and two all-rounders helps with the balance.”

On the other hand, Sri Lanka are going to play with four seamers including Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga, Isuru Udana and Thisara Perera.

Sri Lanka captain Dimuth Karunaratne said, “We would have bowled first as well. We are playing four seamers. We played a practice game here. After first session [hour?], it doesn’t do much but if you hit the deck hard, you can get some seam movement.”

Sri Lanka Playing XI: Dimuth Karunaratne(c), Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Perera(w), Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya de Silva, Thisara Perera, Isuru Udana, Jeevan Mendis, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga

New Zealand Playing XI: Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Tom Latham(w), James Neesham, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Trent Boult.