Home / Bangladesh / JCD activists lock BNP central office

JCD activists lock BNP central office

JCD activists lock BNP central office

Dhaka, June 11 : Some activists of BNP’s student wing Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal (JCD) were staging demonstrations in front of BNP’s Nayapaltan central office by locking its main gate on Tuesday demanding cancellation of the party’s directives about age limit in forming its new committee.

Several hundred leaders and activists of the recently-dissolved JCD central committee gathered in front of the party office around 11am and started demonstration there. At one stage, they locked the main gate and continued their protest programme.

The protesters were chanting slogans in favour of their demand for cancellation of the age limit.

The JCD demonstrators were also demanding the cancellation of the announcement about dissolving their central committee.

They said they want BNP to form a short-term JCD committee without keeping any age ceiling.

As some ex-JCD leaders, including Shamsuzzaman Dudu, Amanullah Aman, Fazlul Haq Milon, Shaheeduddin Chowdhury Anne, ABM Mosharraf Hossain, Shafiul Bari Babu came to the spot, the protestors engaged in argument with them and barred them from entering the office.

BNP senior joint secretary general Ruhul Kabir Rizvi and some other party leaders were staying inside the office.

The demonstration was going on till filing of this report around 1:30pm.

On June 3, the central committee of BNP’s student body Jatiyatabadi Chhatra Dal (JCD) was dissolved.

A BNP press release, signed by BNP Senior Joint Secretary General Ruhul Kabir Rizvi, said a new JCD committee will be formed within the next 45 days based on the opinions of its councillors.

It said those who will contest election for different posts of JCD will have to be primary members, students of any educational institution of Bangladesh and must pass SSC and equivalent examination after 2000.

On October 14, 2014, JCD’s last committee was formed making Rajib Ahsan its president and Akramul Hasan its general secretary.