Home / Sports / BPL: Royals thumb Platoon by nine wickets

BPL: Royals thumb Platoon by nine wickets

BPL: Royals thumb Platoon by nine wickets

Bangladesh ODI captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza-led Dhaka Platoon batted first after losing the toss and posted only 134 runs for nine in 20 overs.

In reply, Rajshahi Royals chased down the target scoring 136 for one in 18.2 overs.Royals made a good start as their opener Hazratullah Zazai of Afghanistan pairing with Liton Das contributed 62 runs in the opening stand to make a good foundation of their innings.

After departure of Liton Das scoring 39 runs off 27 balls featuring four fours and two sixes, Zazai partnering with former Pakistani captain Shoaib Malik guided the team toward victory.

Zazai remained unbeaten on 56 off 47 with five fours and three sixes while Shoaib Malik scored run-a ball 36 with three fours and one six.

Mehedi Hasan took the lone wicket of Liton Das conceding 23 runs.

For Dhaka Platoon, national opener Tamim Iqbal again failed to impress the spectators in the match.

After the World Cup 2019, Tamim played only four games- three ODIs in Sri Lanka and one First-class game in the National Cricket League. So it was important for him to make good knock in BPL, but the southpaw failed to do so.Anamul Haque Bijoy was the best batsman for Dhaka hitting 38 off 33 balls with one four and two sixes, Jaker Ali hit 21 off 19 with two fours.

But the batsmen like Ariful Haque, Thisara Perera and Shahid Afridi failed to impress.

Perera and Ariful scored one and five runs respectively while former Pakistani captain Shahid Afridi back to the pavilion with a golden duck.

However, Pakistani lower order batsman Wahab Riaz scored 12-ball 19 runs with two fours and one six while captain Masharafe hit 10-ball 18 runs hitting two sixes to propel the Platoon for face saving 134 for nine in 20 overs.

Abu Jayed Rahi bagged two wickets conceding 43 runs in four overs while Taijul Islam, Farhad Reza, Alok Kapali and Ravi Bopara took one wicket each.

Later, Ravi Bopara was adjudged man of the match for his one wicket haul conceding 15 runs in three overs.