Home / Bangladesh / AL nominated candidates win by-polls to Dhaka, Sirajganj

AL nominated candidates win by-polls to Dhaka, Sirajganj

Habib Hasan (left), Tanvir Shakhil (right)
Habib won the election beating his nearest rival BNP contender SM Jahangir Hossain by a huge margin of over 70,000 votes.Habib secured 75,820 votes, while Jahangir 5,369 votes, according to the unofficial election results announced by Returning Officer ZM Sahatab Uddin.Besides, Jatiya Party contestant Md Nasir Uddin Sarkat got only 325 votes.

The voter turnout was only 14.18 percent as 81,818 out of total 5,77,116 votes were cast at 217 polling stations in the parliamentary seat comprising the 14 wards and airport area under Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC).

Dhaka-18 constituency fell vacant after the death of former home minister and Awami League MP Sahara Khatun on July 9.

Meanwhile, Awami League nominated candidate engineer Tanvir Shakhil Joy, son of late AL leader Mohammed Nasim, elected Sirajganj-1 MP becoming victorious in by-polls.

Tanvir Shakhil got 1 lakh 88 thousand 325 votes while his nearest rival BNP candidate Selim Reza bagged 468 votes.

There are a total of 3 lakh 45 thousand 603 voters in the constituency. Voters cast their votes in 168 centres.Mentionable, the Sirajganj-1 constituency fell vacant following the death of Awami League Presidium Member and former Health Minister Mohammed Nasim on June 13.