Home / Sports / Nabi included in ODI squad for Bangladesh series

Nabi included in ODI squad for Bangladesh series

Mohammad Nabi, the senior all-rounder, has made a return to the 50-over format as he has been included in the 16-member Afghanistan squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Bangladesh, scheduled to start from February 23. Nabi will also continue to lead the T20I side in the two 20-over games against Bangladesh in March.

There are plenty of changes to the Afghanistan side that was selected for the T20 World Cup last year. Asghar Afghan (retired), Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Shahzad, Hashmatullah, Hamid Hassan and Naveen ul Haq are the ones missing out while Darwish Rasooli, Azmatullah Omarzai, Afsar Zazai, Qais Ahmad and Nijat Masood have replaced them.

Osman Ghani and Sharafuddin Ashraf miss out from the ODI squad, while Ibrahim Zadran and Nabi are the inclusions. Salim Safi and Qais Ahmed are the travelling reserves while Hashmat Shahidi will lead the team in the three ODIs.

“The selectors have included some young faces to the ODI line up which is a good sign for us, as we are leading into the World Cup next year. The three ODIs are important for us and I am sure the squad carries enough strength to do well when they get to the field,” ACB chairman Mirwais Ashraf said in a statement, reports Cricbuzz.

“We have an eye on the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia, so the T20I series is also vital in terms of our overall preparations for the mega event.”

The Afghanistan team began their week-long preparation at the Sylhet International Stadium on Monday (February 14). BCB officials confirmed to Cricbuzz that all their members tested negative for COVID-19, which allowed them to begin the preparations for the series.

Rashid Khan and Nabi, who are currently participating in the Pakistan Super League, will join the squad ahead of the ODI series which begins on February 23 in Chattogram. The second and the third ODIs will be played on February 25 and 28 in Chattogram before the teams travel to Dhaka for the two T20Is on March 3 and 5

ODI squad: Hashmatullah Shahidi (C), Rahmat Shah (VC), Azmatullah Omarzai, Farid Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Gulbadin Naib, Ibrahim Zadran, Ikram Alikhail, Mohammad Nabi, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rashid Khan, Riaz Hassan, Shahidullah Kamal, Yamin Ahmadzai.

T20I squad: Mohammad Nabi (C), Afsar Zazai, Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hazratullah Zazai, Karim Janat, Mujeeb ur Rahman, Najibullah Zadran, Nijat Masood, Qais Ahmad, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rashid Khan, Sharafuddin Ashraf and Usman Ghani.