Home / Sports / Bangladesh register first T20I series win against England

Bangladesh register first T20I series win against England

SHOEB KABIR, UKBDNEWS :: Bangladesh clinched three-match T20I series keeping one match in hand against England after winning the second one by 4 wickets at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka on March 12, 2023.

Najmul Hossain Shanto scored 46 off 47 balls while Mehidy Hasan Miraz strike 20 off 17 balls.

Mehidy Hasan Miraz scalped four wickets in his four overs conceding only 12 runs.
Shakib Al Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud and Mustafizur Rahman each complemented Mehidy with a wicket apiece.

Ben Duckett top-scored with 28 while Phil Salt made 25 off 19 balls at the start of their innings as England’s batsmen struggled to cope with a low and slow wicket in Mirpur.

Taskin dismissed opener Dawid Malan for five but Salt and Moeen Ali showed positive intent to put on 34 runs for the second wicket.

However, the visitors then lost the wickets of Salt, skipper Jos Buttler (four) and Ali (15) in consecutive overs to lose their way.

Mehidy then struck twice in one over to dismiss Sam Curran (12) and Chris Woakes (0) to deny England a late recovery.

The third and final match of the series will be held at the same ground on Tuesday.
Bangladesh: 1 Rony Talukdar, 2 Litton Das (wk), 3 Najmul Hossain Shanto, 4 Shakib Al Hasan (capt), 5 Towhid Hridoy, 6 Afif Hossain, 7 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 8 Nasum Ahmed, 9 Taskin Ahmed, 10 Hasan Mahmud, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

England: 1 Phil Salt, 2 Dawid Malan, 3 Jos Buttler (capt & wk), 4 Ben Duckett, 5 Moeen Ali, 6 Sam Curran, 7 Chris Woakes, 8 Chris Jordan, 9 Adil Rashid, 10 Rehan Ahmed, 11 Jofra Archer