Home / Sports / India post enormous 397 before New Zealand

India post enormous 397 before New Zealand

Indian batters came with their wizard batting shows as they posted a gigantic total of 397 runs before New Zealand in the first semifinal of the World Cup in Mumbai.

Two eye-catching centuries from Virat Kohli and Shreyas Iyer provided the hosts to set a mountain-like 398-run target at the Wankhede Stadium on Wednesday.

Opting to bat, two openers Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill provided India with a wonderful start adding 71 runs together in just eight overs.

The Indian skipper departed for 47 from 29 balls hitting four sixes and four fours. He recorded hitting the most sixes in ODI World Cup history keeping West Indian legendary batter Chris Gayle behind.

On the other hand, Gill kept converting his innings much longer making a 93-run stand with Virat Kohli. However, Gill had to go back to being retired hurt on his 65-ball 79, and, later, returned again and added just one run at the end, remaining not out for 80.

Virat Kohli and Sreyas Iyer then produced a massive 163-run stand between them while hitting their three-digit margins.

Kholi completed his 50th ODI hundred, which was the record-highest in ODI cricket history, and overtook the great Sachin Tendulkar. He departed for 117 from 113 balls.

Iyer went back to the pavilion after playing a 70-ball 105 runs power-hitting knock with eight sixes and four fours.

KL Rahul played a cameo of 39 runs from 20 balls at the end to help the men in blue get the colossal total of 397 runs losing four wickets after the full 50 overs.

Tim Southee was the pick of the New Zealand bowlers picking up three wickets but he was too much expensive as he conceded 100 runs in 10 overs. Trent Boult got one.

Playing XIs

India: Rohit Sharma (capt), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

New Zealand: Devon Conway, Rachin Ravindra, Kane Williamson (capt), Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham (wk), Glenn Phillips, Mark Chapman, Mitchell Santner, Tim Southee, Lockie Ferguson, Trent Boult.