Home / Sports / Riders outplayed Super Stars

Riders outplayed Super Stars

35Rangpur Riders outplayed Sylhet Super Stars and secured 8 wickets win throwing them out of the third edition of BPL match at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in the capital on Monday.

Super Stars had to win all their matches in hand to gain any sort of chances in the knock out phase in the BPL -3 but they failed to do so.

In the literal sense, the match ended after the first half when Sylhet Super Stars were wrapped up 59 runs in their innings after being sent to bat by Rangpur Riders who won an important toss early in the evening.

Earlier, the Sylhet Super Stars narrowly escaped the lowest total in the third session of Bangladesh Premier League as they were wrapped up 59 runs against Rangpur Riders.

This is the second lowest team total in the BPL this year so far the matched have been played. Previously it was 58 for the Barisal Bulls against Sylhet yesterday.

The batting line of the Super Stars collapsed as none could score double figure except Sohail Tanvir (20 off 17). In addition four of the Super Stars’s batsmen have sent to pavilion without scoring.

Arafat Sunny was the successful bowler for the Riders as he grabbed 4 wickets just for 14 runs. Ace all rounder Shakib Al Hassan picked up 2 for 25 runs while Mohammad Nabi took 3 wickets for 15 runs.

Skipper Shakib Al Hasan brought Arafat Sunny to open the bowling and Sunny potently paid the decision by sending back both the openers of Super Stars in consecutive overs.

Sunny shattered the stumps of Dilshan Munaweera in the fifth delivery of his first over before Munaweera opened his account.

Junaid Siddique’s forceful defense ended up being caught by the bowler Arafat Sunny in his next over. Siddique scored 5 runs playing 6 balls with a four.

Sunny picked up the most important wicket of Mushfiqur Rahim (9 off 10 balls) in the fifth over of the match.

Super Stars’ slightest hope diminished when Mohammad Mithun stumped the Pakistani super star off the delivery of Shakib Al Hasan. Afridi’s 3 ball innings ended up in a single four.