Home / Lead News / BCB announces Asia Cup squad

BCB announces Asia Cup squad

75Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) on Sunday announced a 15-member squad for the 13th Asia Cup starting on February 24 with hosts Bangladesh taking on India at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium (SBNCS) in Mirpur.

The other teams of the Twenty20 format tournament include defending champions Sri Lanka, Pakistan, India and a qualifier, UNB reports.

The qualifier will be determined through a qualifying round (Twenty20 Internationals) scheduled to be played on February 19-22 at Khan Saheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatullah.

Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Oman and the UAE will vie for the lone spot in the main round along with the four Asian Test nations.

The Asia Cup will end on March 6 ahead of the ICC World Twenty20 in March in India.

Bangladesh Squad: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah Riyad, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Mustafizur Rahman, Al Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed and Abu Hider Rony