Home / Sports / ICC names teams of World T20

ICC names teams of World T20

62The ICC on Monday announced the teams of the tournament for the men’s and women’s

ICC World Twenty20 2016, which finished at Eden Gardens in Kolkata on Sunday.

A story published on the cricket body’s website read, “The teams were chosen by a select

group of former cricket stars and highly respected commentators who were given the task

of picking a balanced side for all conditions on the basis of performances in the

tournament. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.”

The men’s team, including 12th man, contained four players from England, two players

each from India and the West Indies, and one each from Australia, Bangladesh, New

Zealand and South Africa, while the women’s team comprised four players from New

Zealand, two players each from Australia, England and the West Indies, and one player

each from Pakistan and South Africa.

The experts chose India’s Virat Kohli as captain of the men’s side while Stafanie Taylor

of the West Indies was named to lead the women’s line-up.

Both teams include the respective players of the tournament, Virat Kohli of India and

Stafanie Taylor of the West Indies. The two players, for their achievements, won

glittering trophies as well as ICC World Twenty20 Gold limited edition watches from

ICC Timing Partner, Hublot.

Men’s Team (as per batting order): Jason Roy (England), Quinton de Kock (South

Africa / wicketkeeper), Virat Kohli (India / captain), Joe Root (England), Jos Buttler

(England), Shane Watson (Australia), Andre Russell (West Indies), Mitchell Santner

(New Zealand), David Willey (England), Samuel Badree (West Indies) and Ashish Nehra

(India). 12th Man: Mustafizur Rahman (Bangladesh)

Women’s Team (as per batting order): Suzie Bates (New Zealand), Charlotte Edwards

(England), Meg Lanning (Australia), Stafanie Taylor (West Indies / captain), Sophie

Devine (New Zealand), Rachel Priest (New Zealand / wicketkeeper), Deandra Dottin

(West Indies), Megan Schutt (Australia), Sune Luus (South Africa), Leigh Kasperek

(New Zealand) and Anya Shrubsole (England). 12th Player: Anam Amin (Pakistan)

Announcing the squads, ICC general manager cricket Geoff Allardice who chaired the

meeting, said, “The experts had an extremely difficult task to select the men’s and

women’s squads from around 400 cricketers who represented the 26 teams, thanks to

outstanding performances by all the players at this hugely successful event.

“In the end, I believe the selectors have chosen two very well balanced sides which are

capable of beating any opposition under any conditions.”

The selection panel, led by Geoff Allardice, also consisted of Ian Bishop (former West

Indies fast bowler), Nasser Hussain (former England captain), Mel Jones (former

Australia women’s batter), Sanjay Manjrekar (former India batsman) and Lisa Sthalekar

(former Australia women’s all-rounder).