Home / Lead News / London Bangla Press Club holds its biennial general meeting and election

London Bangla Press Club holds its biennial general meeting and election

The biennial general meeting and election of London Bangla Press Club was held in Impression Hall in East in East London in a festive mood.  Journalists across the UK, life members of the club and many others took part in this lively meeting.The general meeting started at 1.00 pm on Saturday.  President Nobab Uddin presided over the meeting.  Emdadul Haque Chowdhury then submitted the General Secretary’s report while Treasurer Mohammad Jubair submitted Treasurer’s report.The vote-casting started at 2.30 and continued until 6 o’clock in the evening.Bangladesh High Commissioner in London Abdul Hanna and MP for Bethnal Green and Bow Rushnara Ali  attended the dinner which followed the vote-casting.  Around 7 o’clock in the evening, the result of the three posts was announced.  The other 12 candidates were elected without contest.Mahbub Rahman was elected as Vice-President receiving 111 votes.  The other contender for this post Rohmat Ali received 55 votes. Taysir Mahmud was elected as Partnership and Network Relationships Secretary receiving 89 votes where as the other contender for this post Mohammod Sayeem Chowdhury received 74 votes.Milton Rahman was elected as Community Commission Secretary receiving 107 votes .  The other contender Abdul Qayum received 58 votes.The other twelve executives who elected without contest were Nobab Uddin as  President, Emdadul Haque Chowdhury as General Secretary, Mohammad Jubayer as Treasurer, Motiur Rahman Chowdhury as Employability and Training Secretary, Mohammod Sobhan as Information and Technology Secretary, Towhid Ahmed as Event Secretary, Amirul Chowdhury as Business and Innovation Secretary, Syed Monsur Uddin as Governance and Policy Secretary, Zakir Hossain Koyes as Fund Raising Secretary, Ahad Chowdhury Babu as Community Secretary, Abu Saleh Mohammod Masum as Foreign Affairs and Welfare Secretary and Saleh Ahmed as Facilities Secretary