Home / Local news / National Mourning Day observed by All European Bangabandhu Porisad

National Mourning Day observed by All European Bangabandhu Porisad

Bangladesh’s National Mourning Day (Jatiyo Shok Dibash) was observed by the All European Bangabandhu Porisad (AEBP) on 17 August 2019 at Harkness House Community Hall, Christian St, East London.

The meeting was presided by AEBP’s Chairman Dr. Faizul Islam and conducted by AEBP’s General Secretary S M Mustafizur Rahman with the former General Secretary of UK Awami League Prof. Abul Hashem as  the Chief Guest and former Student Leader & DUCSU member and a veteran Awami League Leader Dewan Gaus Sultan, former GLA Member Murad Qureshi, former MP & friend of Bangladesh Michael Barnes’s son Hugh Barnes  as special guests.

The meeting began with prayer by Moulana Qutbuddin Ahmed, and a minute silence was observed paying homage and respect to all the martyrs. Then the President Dr Faizul Islam welcomed everyone and highlighted the importance of National Mourning Day.

During the meeting, various speakers remembered with respect the Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and all those killed on 15 August. The guests said those who were involved in the conspiracy to assassinate Bangabandhu should be brought to trial and urged the government to punish the murderers who had fled abroad.

Among others who spoke were  Abdul Jalil Chowdhury, Asad Uddin, Shajahan Mahmood, Abdul Qadir Murad, poet Nazrul Islam, Mehdi Hasan, Babul Hossain, Kaiser Rashid Minto, Mahtab Chowdhury, Siyad Ahmed Sad, Ashraf Uddin, Dr Abdur Qadir, M A Sattar, Advocate Jane Alam, freedom fighter Abdul Mannan, Ansar Ahmed Ullah, Abu Hossain, Afzal Hossain, Salim Ullah & Advocate Shah Farooq Ahmed. The meeting finished with prayers and evening meal.