Home / Bangladesh / AL candidate Nilufar Anjum Popy wins M’singh-3 seat

AL candidate Nilufar Anjum Popy wins M’singh-3 seat

Awami League (AL) nominated candidate for Mymensingh-3 constituency Nilufar Anjum Popy has been unofficially declared the winner at the suspended Bhalukapur High School centre on Saturday.

There are 3,032 voters in this centre. Nilufar Anjum received 1,295 votes while her closest competitor independent candidate Somnath Saha (Truck symbol) got 355 votes.

The voting in the centre began at 8am on Saturday and continued until 4pm. The unofficial results were announced around 5pm.

Now the Awami League (AL) got 223 seats the 12th parliamentary election.

On January 7, the local administration suspended voting at Bhalukpur High School centre in Shabanhati of Gauripur upazila due to election irregularities.

Later, the Election Commission had fixed January 13 as the date for the voting in this centre.