Home / Bangladesh / M’singh, Cumilla city polls underway

M’singh, Cumilla city polls underway

Voting in Cumilla and Mymensingh City Corporations began at 8am on Saturday.

Polling is being held through electronic voting machines (EVMs).

In Cumilla, there is only voting in the mayoral by-election is being held.

Meanwhile, in Mymensingh, as the term of the city corporation has expired, there is being held voting for all the posts of mayor and councilors.

Incumbent mayor Ekramul Haque Titu, district Awami League president Ehteshamul Alam and district unit AL adviser Sadiqul Haque Khan Milki, former member of Krishak League Rezaul Haque Reza and district unit Jatiya Party joint general secretary Shahidul Islam Swapan Mondal are contesting the mayoral post in Mymensingh.

And in Cumilla, four people are contesting for the post of mayor.

Two leaders who were expelled from the BNP, former mayor Monirul Haque Sakku and former leader of Swechchhasebak Dal Nizamuddin Kaiser are taking part the polls while Awami League Cumilla city unit organising secretary Tahsin Bahar and city Awami League adviser Noor-Ur Tanim are contesting the polls.