Home / Bangladesh / 3 Supreme Court judges sworn in

3 Supreme Court judges sworn in

Three newly appointed judges of the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court (SC) were sworn in on Thursday morning.

Chief Justice Obaidul Hassan administered the oath  to the three judges at 10:30 am at the Supreme Court judges’ lounge.

The appointment will come into effect from the date of their oath, according to a notification issued earlier.

President Mohammed Shahabuddin on Wednesday made the appointments in line with Article 95 (1) of the Constitution, by elevating them from the High Court Division to the Appellate Division.

The three judges are Justice Muhammad Abdul Hafiz, Justice Md Shahinur Islam and Justice Kashefa Hussain.

The number of apex court judges now stands at eight.