Home / Sports / Bangladesh’s early batting collapse hands India 62 runs victory

Bangladesh’s early batting collapse hands India 62 runs victory

Bangladesh have lost the warm-up match by 62 runs against India, due to as usual early batting collapse ahead of ICC T20 World Cup main event at Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York on Saturday.

To chase the target of 183, Bangladesh have lost eight wickets to score only 120 runs. However, Mahmudullah and Shakib have played a important role bringing back the team in track from 41 for five wickets.

Earlier, after being decided to bat first India have managed to score 182 in a sticky batting surface.

They lost Samson early while Rohit Sharma got his quintessential start but fell shortly after the powerplay. Rishabh Pant, on his return to International cricket, took to the stage like a duck to water as he played some aggressive cricket against the spinners.

The southpaw scored a fifty before retiring out. Shivam Dube looked a bit sketchy, and so did Jadeja. However, India would be happy with the return to form for Suryakumar Yadav and more importantly Hardik Pandya. The latter in particular looked great against spin, scoring a hat-trick of sixes against Tanvir Islam.

On the other hand, for Bangladesh Mahedi was impressive, bagging a wicket and only conceding 22 runs in four overs. Shoriful was not bad either, although Bangladesh will now be sweating over the injury he picked up.

However, Shakib was uncharacteristically expensive, although Bangladesh, at this stage, will feel they can chase this down and head to their T20 World Cup opener high on confidence.

Playing XI’s:


Litton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Najmul Hossain Shanto(c), Towhid Hridoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Jaker Ali(w), Mahedi Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Tanzid Hasan, Tanzim Hasan Sakib, Tanvir Islam


Rohit Sharma(c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant(w), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh, Yuzvendra Chahal