Home / Lead News / 10th Annual BCA celebrates winners

10th Annual BCA celebrates winners

52The winners of the 10th annual BCA Awards were announced at a memorable ceremony at the Park Plaza Hotel in Westminster, London on November 22nd 2015. Hosted by TV presenter Tasmin Lucia-Khan and MasterChef’s Gregg Wallace. In addition to the 10 winners of the Chef of the Year and 10 winners of restaurant of the Year accolades, three prestigious BCA Honour Awards were also presented to, Lord Mohamed Sheikh for his outstanding contribution and support to the British Curry Industry, Late Mohammed Yaqub for his lifetime contribution to the British Curry Industry and British Bangladeshi Community and Dr Rami Ranger MBE for his support and contribution to the British Curry Industry. Pasha Khandaker, BCA President in his speech said “Another year of culinary excellence seeded by our ancestors that has now become a vibrant part of Britain’s heritage and has created millions of curry lovers across the nation, we are immensely proud of all the winners today that they stay strong, focused and positive to drive our industry forward even in times of great hardships” This year’s ceremony was more important than ever, to show the strength of unity and solidarity with the community as a whole following the recent terror tragedies sweeping the world, in memory of the victims to a senseless act of terror in Paris the audience paid their respects in a one-minute silence before commencing the celebrations. Mr MA Munim, BCA Secretary General said “ I can assure you that these murderers belong to no religion; they only call themselves Muslims. Our hearts and thoughts are with all the victims and we stand united against terrorism. We are united more than ever, we are one and will stand strong as one against such acts falsely accused as being our religion” The UK’s leading LED light show The Flash Mob lit up the ceremony with their extravagant performance to mark the 10th year celebrations joining them to dazzle the audience were the Electro Girls, Showmi Das featuring double twist dance troupe, the soulful voice of Nikki Loy and national award winning singer from Bangladesh Polash. Amongst the guests reveling in the entertainment and celebrations of the industry were Lord Karan Bilimoria, RT Hon Lord Bates, RT Hon Mike Penning MP Hemel Hempstead, Sir Kier Starmer MP Holborn and St Pancreas and Paul Scully MP Sutton and Cheam and Chair of the All Party Parliamentary Group for the Curry Industry. Established in 1960, The Bangladesh Caterers Association (BCA) today represents over 12,000 British Bangladeshi restaurants and takeaways – an industry that employs approximately 80,000 people, with an estimated turnover of £5.2 billion per annum. Built on the work of Bangladeshi migrants, the BCA prides itself on cultural heritage and promoting authentic Bangladeshi taste to keep the industry thriving and successful. The BCA Awards also recognised the support from their sponsors and partners, including, Cobra Beer, Kukd, Kingfisher, Square Mile Insurance, Kansara’s, Air Express, Utility choice, Hamlets Training, Aroma Ice Cream, Sunmark, Bangladesh Biman Airlines, London Till Rolls, Madhus and chosen charity partner Apasen International. –

BCA Restaurant of the Year 2015 Winners 1. Mehraj Zaman, Jaipur Spice, York 2. Md Anfor Ali, Raj Mahal Restaurant, Hertfordshire 3. Malik Uddin, India Lodge, Stotfold, Hitchin 4. Sanu Miah, Turmeric Gold, Tudeley, Tonbridge 5. Gulam Rabbani Ahad, Maharaja, Bexley 6. Mujibur Rahman Junue, Spice of India, Whitton, Middlesex 7. Ashraf Talukder, Tarana Restaurant, Lingfield, Surrey 8. Karim Miah, Spice Club, Bridgewater, Somerset 9. Badsha Mia, Cafe Le Raj, Chipping, Oxfordshire 10. Zakir Ahmed, Spice Island Restaurant, Barnard Castle BCA Chef of the Year 2015 Winners 1. Abul Monsur Jewel, Taj Cuisine, Chatham, Kent 2. Abul Kashem, Five Spice Restaurant, Belbroughton, West Midlands 3. Kalam Miah, Bombay Spice, Norwich, Norfolk 4. Ishtiak Hussain (Dude), Indian Ocean, Colchester, Essex 5. Robby Malique, Melford Valley Tandoori, Long Melford, Suffolk 6. Manik Miah, The Windsor Tiffin, Burbage, Hinckley 7. Md Mujibur Rahman, Neel Akash, Ware, Hertfordshire 8. Mohammad Mokoddos, Killay Spice, Sketty, Swansea 9. Siddique Ahmed, Bengal Lounge, Dursley, Gloucestershire 10. Abdul Kayum, Asif Balti House, The Broadway, Croydon