Home / Bangladesh / BNP won’t join 5 city polls, Fakhrul reiterates

BNP won’t join 5 city polls, Fakhrul reiterates

Dismissing all speculations about the party’s subtle strategy to take part in city polls, BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir on Saturday categorically said their party is not joining the upcoming elections to five city corporations in any way.

“We have made it very clear that we are not going for any kind of local government elections. Especially in the city corporation polls, our party won’t vie for any post of mayor or commissioner.”

He made the remarks while talking to reporters after placing a wreath at the grave of BNP founder Ziaur Rahman together with the leaders of the newly formed Jatiyatabadi Swechchasebak Dal committee, reports UNB.

Fakhrul said Awami League wants to establish a one-party Baksal rule by destroying democracy as the party does not believe in elections and democracy.

He alleged that the ruling party made the national election in 2014 a complete farce by depriving people of their right to franchise.

“Similarly, in 2018, they usurped power by stuffing ballots the night before the election day and people didn’t participate in that polls either,” the BNP leader observed.

Even, he said people are not participating in the local government elections under the current government. “Only 14% of people went to vote in the recent by-polls polls (in Chattogram). So people understand and the entire world understands that there will never be any fair election if this regime stays in power.”

The BNP leader said people will also not participate in the next national election if it is held under the Awami League government.

He said the Prime Minister is talking about fair elections after going abroad to mislead people and repair her government’s dented image.

“But the country’s people have now woken up. We believe that the people will defeat this regime through a fierce movement and establish a truly democratic system in the country,” Fakhrul said.

Earlier on April 20 last, BNP announced a full-fledged 213-member committee of the party’s voluntary wing Jatiyatabadi Swechchhasebak Dal.

SM Zilani and Rajib Ahsan were made the president and the general secretary respectively of the committee.