Home / Sports / Proteas win T20 series against Bangladesh

Proteas win T20 series against Bangladesh

21South Africa have won the two-match T20 series against Bangladesh by defeating the hosts by 31 runs in the second match at Sher-E-Bangla National Stadium in the capital’s Mirpur.
Bangladesh have scored 138 runs in 19.2 overs losing all wickets in the second Twenty20 international against South Africa on Tuesday.
Parnell took Tamim at 13, Leie sent Soumya, Sabbir and Mushfiqur back to the pavilion at 37, 1 and 0 respectively, Phangiso stopped Shakib at 8 while Nasir for a duck and Liton at 10. Abbot dismissed Mashrafe for 17 while Mustafizur for a duck.
Earlier in the day, South Africa opted to bat against Bangladesh in Mirpur, having done so successfully in the 52-run victory in the first game on Sunday.
The visitors made 169 runs in 20 overs losing four wickets and set 170 run target for the hosts.
South Africa made one change to their XI. Legspinner Eddie Leie made his international debut, replacing fast bowler Kagiso Rabada. Leie had taken 1 for 11 in the warm-up T20 in Fatullah.
Bangladesh also had a debutant in Rony Talukdar, who was listed to bat at No 8. He replaced Sohag Gazi, who bowled two wicketless overs in his international comeback in the first T20I against South Africa.
Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Soumya Sarkar, 3 Shakib Al Hasan, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Sabbir Rahman, 6 Nasir Hossain, 7 Litton Das, 8 Rony Talukdar, 9 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 10 Arafat Sunny, 11 Mustafizur Rahman
South Africa: 1 Quinton de Kock (wk), 2 AB de Villiers, 3 Faf du Plessis (capt), 4 JP Duminy, 5 David Miller, 6 Rilee Rossouw, 7 David Wiese, 8 Wayne Parnell, 9 Kyle Abbott, 10 Eddie Leie, 11 Aaron Phangiso