Home / Sports / Mission accomplished!

Mission accomplished!

25Bangla Mirror Desk:

Player of the match Soumya Sarkar remained unbeaten on 127 runs from only 110 balls and took Bangladesh home in the third and final ODI match of the series at Mirpur on Wednesday.
After the comprehensive victories in the first and second matches, Bangladesh won their tenth ODI series via a whitewash, or “Banglawash” for the millions of Bangladeshi cricket fans at home and abroad.
Soumya literally toyed with the Pakistani bowlers during his scintillating knock, hammering thirteen 4s and six 6s to the utter delight of the home crowd, cheering him all the way.
After the fall of Mahmudullah’s wicket, Mushfiqur Rahim came to the crease and looked to take on the opposing bowlers from ball one. He was not out on 49 runs from 43 balls, hitting six 4s in his knock.
The unbeaten partnership of 97 runs between Soumya and Mushfiq ensured no more hiccups for the Tigers, especially after Mahmudullah’s wicket in the 28th over.
Mahmudullah failed to deliver in this series as his stay at the crease lasted only ten balls when Junaid Khan’s in-swinger crashed on to his stumps, sending him back for only 4 runs to his name.
Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal entertained the crowd at Mirpur with this exhilarating batting, before he was leg-before-wicket to Junaid Khan for 64 runs from 76 balls. He smashed eight 4s and a huge six in his innings.
The partnership of 145 between Tamim and Soumya built a solid platform for Bangladesh to chase down Pakistan’s challenging total.
Soumya was the first to reach his fifty after facing 65 balls, belting six 4s and one spectacular six on the way.
Both of them didn’t miss an opportunity to dispatch the loose balls away, as they were coming thick and fast from the demoralized Pakistan bowlers.
Riding on the confidence of the previous matches, Bangladesh openers Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar began the chase in a positive manner during the third and final match of the series.
Earlier, Arafat Sunny ended Pakistan’s feeble resistance at 250 runs when he picked up his second wicket by bowling out Junaid Khan with an over remaining in the innings.
Rubel Hossain snuffed out any possibility of Pakistan reaching a big total with his second wicket after he sent back Saad Nasim for 22 runs in the 48th over.
Umar Gul continued the procession of wickets when he ran himself out without troubling the scoreboard.

After being hammered in his early spells, Rubel Hossain came back late in the innings when he dismissed Wahab Riaz for 7 runs and keeping the stranglehold on Pakistan innings intact for Bangladesh.
Things got bad to worse for Pakistan after collapsing from 181/2 to 224/6 in the match when Mashrafe picked up his second wicket in his tenth over by outsmarting Fawad Alam with this clever change of pace.
Shakib Al Hasan heaped further misery on Pakistan when he caught and bowled Mohammad Rizwan for 4 runs to bring back Bangladesh in the match with his second wicket in quick time.
Mashrafe Mortaza struck soon after Shakib’s breakthrough when he dismissed Haris Sohail for 53 runs and denting Pakistan’s chances of a big total.
Pakistan’s in-form opener Azhar Ali continued his good run in the series when he became the first Pakistan captain since Shahid Afridi in 2010 to score a hundred in this third game of the three-match series.
After a 98-run partnership with Haris Sohail, Azhar Ali was dismissed by Shakib Al Hasan for 101 runs from 112 balls. He struck ten boundaries in his knock.

Pakistan lost their second wicket soon after Sami returned to the pavilion as Mohammad Hafeez’s poor run in the series continued after he was dismissed by Arafat Sunny for only 4 runs.
Nasir Hossain gave Bangladesh’s first breakthrough as Pakistani opener Sami Aslam gloved the ball to Mushfiqur Rahim after a well-made 45 to his name.
Pakistan captain Azhar Ali won the toss and decided to bat first in the third and final one-day international at Mirpur Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium.
Bangladesh Team
Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (Wicketkeeper), Shakib Al Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza (Captain), Arafat Sunny, Taskin Ahmed and Rubel Hossain.
Pakistan Team
Azhar Ali (Captain), Mohammad Hafeez, Haris Sohail, Fawad Alam, Sami Aslam, Mohammad Rizwan (Wicketkeeper), Saad Nasim, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Umar Gul and Zulfiqar Babar