Home / Sports / Bangladesh lose but Mahmudullah wins hearts

Bangladesh lose but Mahmudullah wins hearts

Bangladesh suffer a big defeat of 149 runs to South Africa in the 23rd game of the World Cup while chasing the huge 382 in Mumbai.

Mahmudullah Riyad, hit a brilliant century to reduce the difference of their defeat, won the hearts of cricket lovers giving the team 111 runs in the tough situation at the Wankhede Stadium on Tuesday.
In reply to 282, Bangladesh fell under huge pressure losing six wickets in just 81 runs as no batters could survive long enough.

However, it was only Mahmudullah who stood with strong hands before the dangerous South African bowling attacks making several partnership with the batters on the others side. He hit 111 runs from 111 balls and departed after taking the team on a respectable position.

Liton Das (22), Nasum Ahmed (19) and Hasan Mahmud (15) added some runs to the total. Bangladesh, at last, were stopped on 233 losing their all wickets in 46.4 overs.

Gerald Coetzee picked up the highest three wickets for South Africa while each of Marco Jansen, Lizaad Williams and Kagiso Rabada got one.

Earlier, South Africa posted a mountain-like 382 runs before Bangladesh with power-hitting shots from Quinton de Kock and Heinrich Klaasen.

Opting to bat, South Africa felt a little bit uneasy losing two early wickets in 36 runs. Quinton de Kock (174 from 140) then started attacking Bangladeshi bowlers and made a 131-run stand with standing captain Aiden Markram (60 from 69).

After that, Heinrich Klaasen (90 from 49) joined Kock and started dealing with sixes while making a 142-run stand with him. Later, David Miller (34 from 15) played a cameo to take the team 382 runs losing five wickets till the end.

A total of 19 sixes were hit by the Protea batters while Klaasen hit eight alone, with Kock and Miller hitting seven and four sixes respectively.

Hasan Mahmud picked up the highest two wickets while Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Shoriful Islam and Shakib Al Hasan got one each.

Playing XIs

Bangladesh: Tanzid Hasan, Litton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan(c), Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Mahmudullah, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud.

South Africa: Quinton de Kock(w), Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram(c), Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Marco Jansen, Gerald Coetzee, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lizaad Williams.