Home / Bangladesh / Awami League’s newly-elected MPs take oath

Awami League’s newly-elected MPs take oath

The 11th Jatiya Sangsad’s Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Choudhury administered oath of newly-elected Awami League MPs

Newly-elected 222 members of parliament (MPs) belong to Awami League took oath on Wednesday (January 10) morning.

They were sworn-in at 10:15am at the oath room on Level 1 of the East Block of Jatiya Sangsad building.
The 11th Jatiya Sangsad’s Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Choudhury administered the oath of newly-elected Awami League MPs. With this the formation of new government begins.

The newly-elected MPs started entering the Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban from the morning. They entered through the Gate No. 12 of Sangsad Bhaban. Then Speaker entered the oath-taking room at 10:08am.

After entering the Speaker, administering the oath began through the recitation from the Holy Quran. Parliament Secretariate Mosque’s Imam Hafez Quaari Mufti Md Abu Raihan recited from the Holy Quran. He recited the Ayat No. 91 from Sura Nahl.

Then administering the oath began. At the beginning, Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury herself took oath. Elected from Rangpur-6 constituency, Shirin Sharmin herself sworn-in. Then she administered the oath to the elected Awami League MPs.

Later, the 62 independent candidates, who won national polls from their respective constituencies, were sworn in. The Speaker also administered the oath to 11 MPs of Jatiya Party (JaPa).

Two MPs of Workers Party and Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal, who won the election with the Awami League electoral symbol Boat took oath as well.

The lone Kalyan Party MP Major General Syed Mohammad Ibrahim from Cox’s Bazar-1 constiteuncy was also sworn in with elected independent MPs.

A gazette notification was issued on Tuesday on the results of the 12th national elections with details of 298 newly elected members of parliament.

On January 7, election was held in 299, out of 300 constituencies of Jatiya Sangsad. Voting was suspended in Naogaon-2 constiteuncy following the death of a candidate. The Awami League, led by Sheikh Hasina, secured 222 seats, while independent candidates won in 62 constituencies.

The main opposition Jatiya Party won 11 seats, while the Workers Party, Jasad and Bangladesh Kalyan Party bagged one seat each.