Home / Sylhet / Annual cricket tournament in Jagannathpur

Annual cricket tournament in Jagannathpur

Habibul Bashar Shumon, former Captain of Bangladesh Cricket team, inaugurated the Annual Cricket

tournament, 2015, in Dhakhin field of Katalkhair village of Asharkandi Union in Jagannathpur

Upozila.  The Cricket tournament is being organised by New Star Cricket Club.

A meeting was held to discuss the inauguration of the tournament.  Miah Mohammod Ahbab,

President of UK Sechcha Shebok League, presided over the meeting and MP of Sylhet-2 constituency

and General Secretary of Sylhet Awami League, Alhaj Shafiqur Rahman Chowdhury was present in

the inauguration as Chief Guest.

The special guests were UK Sechcha Shebok League General Secretary Chanu Miah, District Sechcha

Shebok League Leader Aftab Hossain Khan, Awami League Leader Afjalur Rahman Chowdhury Najlu,

former UP Chairman, Poet and Researcher Dinul Islam Babul, Former Chairman Ataur Rahman

(Tajpur), Chairman Ayub Khan, Dobir Miah, Choil Miah, Newawar Ali, Simon Ali, Jolal Uddin, Jubo

League Leader Leader M A Hannan, Dildar Ali, Chatro League Leader Pulok, Al Amin, Jameel, Russel,

Ludon, Shihab, Kaosor and others.

The two teams, who played on the opening day, were ‘Amra Cricket Eleven Golmokapon’ vs Shahi

Eidgah Cricket Club Sylhet.

Marjan Rahman and Saleh Amed acted as Umires for the match and Jewel Ahmod Nur as


Member of the club and Chatro League Leader Arifur Rahman Chowdhury was over all in-charge for

conducting the inauguration.