Home / Sports / AUS win rain-interrupted game by DLS

AUS win rain-interrupted game by DLS

Australia defeated Bangladesh in their Super Eight clash of the ongoing T20 World Cup by 28 runs — via the DLS after rain interrupted the game.

Australia were 102/2 after 11.2 overs chasing 141 runs against Bangladesh when the game was held up once again by the rain at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in North Sound Antigua on Friday. The par score at this stage was 72, which meant Australia were 28 runs ahead of the par score when the interruption occurred.

The Aussies were flying at the start of their innings, but they lost the wickets of Travis Head and Mitchell Marsh due to the first rain interruption. When the game was stopped at this stage, Australia needed 77 runs from 82 balls with both their openers Travis Head (30 off 19 balls) and David Warner (28 off 17 balls) going great guns. But from being 64/0 at the rain-inflicted break, Australia lost two quick wickets right after the restart.

Earlier, Pat Cummins ended with a hat-trick as the Australian team restricted Bangladesh to 140/8 in their Super 8 match. Just after the 20 overs were done, rain interrupted the game and it remains to be seen when the second innings will resume.

For Bangladesh, only captain Najmul Hossain Shanto (41 runs) and Towhid Hridoy (40) managed to get decent scores on the board.

Earlier, after a brief delay due to rain, Australia won the toss and asked Bangladesh to bat first. The Australians have brought back Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood into the side in place of Agar and Ellis. Bangladesh, meanwhile, have brought in Mahedi Hasan for Jaker Ali.

The 2021 winners and termed as frontrunners for the silverware this year as well, Australia and Bangladesh are playing their first Super-8 game.

Led by Mitchell Marsh, Australia remained unbeaten in the group stage as they went past Oman, England, Namibia and Scotland to top Group B. Bangladesh on the other hand, did lose a game against South Africa in Group D but ended up making it to the second round on the back of three wins – against Sri Lanka, Nepal and Netherlands.